Fall 2019 & Spring 2020

Honors Council will meet on the second Friday at 4-5PM*

for the fall and spring semesters

 September 13

October 11

November 8

December 13

February 14

March 13

April 10

*Honors Director reserves the right to cancel meetings when necessary. 

Meetings will also be canceled if the date falls on a holiday or snow date.


The Honors Council consists of the Honors Director, six Honors faculty members, three Honors students, and the Vice President for Academic Affairs at UMF (ex-officio).

The Council's primary purpose is to assist the Honors Director in developing the Honors curriculum, conducting HON 499 defenses, coordinating Honors Program changes, and developing appropriate policies for the Program. Honors Council faculty members serve for staggered three-year terms and Honors Council student members serve for one-year renewable terms.

2019-20 Council Members:

John Messier, Honors Director and Professor of Economics

Kristen Case, Associate Professor of English (2021)

Julia Daly, Associate Professor of Geology (2021)

Jayne Decker, Instructor of Theater (2022)

Michael Schoeppner, Assistant Professor of History (2020)

Marilyn Shea, Professor of Psychology (2022)

Melissa Thompson, Assistant Professor of Performing Arts (2020)

Student Representatives;  TBD

Eric Brown, Provost (Ex-officio)

University of Maine at Farmington Honors Program